Huawei GR5 2017 Review

Following the demise of my 2015 Moto X Play, I chose the Huawei GR5 simply because it was only $40 a month with Vodafone.

I didn’t really feel any pull towards the phone outside of that, and my only other choice was an I Phone 5 SE, and I refuse to buy Apple.

So I’ve had it for a few days now, and the verdict?

A bumpy road, but overall, a very good phone for the price.

Some issues I’ve run into include the inability to set up the fingerprint scanner which required a hard reset, whereby I was prompted to set it up. It still only recognises one of the fingers that I’ve registered so I think they’ve added this feature as nothing more than a marketing gimmick, as it is certainly not the most reliable feature of the handset.

Another issue I ran into was this “Demo Mode” app that would play an annoying video everytime the phone went to sleep. After calling Vodafone and verifying who I was three times, and being placed on hold four times in the first 10 minutes, I sorted out the issue via the aforementioned hard reset.

Photo quality is excellent, and there’s a wide variety of options to play around with such as the pencil option, as seen below.18156030_10211537586328634_6059305719406758750_o

Unfortunately there are a bunch of pre-installed apps that no one will ever use, like Music, Email and HiGame, but apart from this bloatware, the interface is quite appealing with plenty of attractive themes and wallpapers to download.

It is noticeably thinner and lighter than my last phone, but it feels quite slippery to hold, so I’m a little worried about dropping it, as the back of it is very smooth.

Overall it is a good device for those not wanting to spend too much per month on a plan, and being a 2017 model, it should be updated to Nougat fairly soon, although Vodafone’s glacial update speeds, put an exact date into question.

Leave a Reply

